Losing shoes can be awkward and embarrassing.

There have been stories of women in high heels losing Christian Louboutin Taupe satin Wedding Shoesshoes outside because of mud and women slipping out of their shoes while they were dancing or running.

I know that I, myself have fallen victim to mud while attending an outdoor wedding wearing the wrong kind of heel for the occasion.

They were utterly beautiful women’s evening shoes: a pair of pumps with pointed toes and a slender kitten heel.

Beautiful yes, but utterly unsuitable for the occasion.

Like many other stories of women in high heels, I could feel it coming before it happened. I could feel my right heel sinking in the mud and, foolishly, I tried to move in an effort to avoid the inevitable.

Then, off came the shoe and I could feel the mud soaking into my silk stockings. Luckily my husband was on hand to provide the necessary balance aid as I stood on one unshod foot while a helpful passerby retrieved my shoe.

A bit of hopping and some stocking removal and I ended up with two shoes and only a little embarrassment.

It turns out I was lucky. Many stories of women in high heels whoChristian Louboutin Pumps have lost their shoes do not end as well.

There have been stories of women who have lost their shoes in rivers, in caves, even in deep pits in the earth.

All of these stories of women in high heels tend to have the same things in common: the shoes were open backed or easy to slip on and off, and the women were all stranded or forced to make do with some very interesting makeshift footwear.

Here are a few tips for you to avoid losing women’s evening shoes. The first is pay attention to your heel style.

If you know you will be outside and walking about on unpaved ground a stiletto heel is not your friend. It will sink in to snow, mud or even soft ground and make it easy for you to lose your shoes.

The next is to find shoes with straps. Many of the strappy women’s Christian Louboutin Peep toe Slingbacksevening shoes that are so popular for spring and summer 2010 are exactly what you need.

“Aplarona” by Christian Louboutin is a delicate and strappy leather sandal perfect for special events. It has a wide heel that is just over 1.5” high.

The ankle strap will keep your shoes nicely in place so that loss is not as much of an issue.